Short list - Awards Ball 2019

We know you have been spending the last 365 days waiting for this moment... the release of the 2019 Awards Ball Shortlist! It's been our biggest year yet, with over 300 nominations pouring in celebrating all the phenomenal things you guys have been up to this year. This year we're going to release a different category on each day of the week, just to keep the excitement going as long as possible! 

Starting on Wednesday, and on Wednesdays we wear black and yellow, we're going to keep with the theme and announce our nominees for the Sports Awards!

Team of the Year

- Men's Tennis 

- Taekwondo 

- Men's Rugby 

- Men's Football 


Biggest Sporting Achievement 

- Men's Basketball, competing and winning at the highest levels of University Basketball 

- Futsal, Winning the South Eastern Conference Cup 

- Rowing, First ever rowing team entered into a BUCS race 


Sports Committee of the Year 

- Cheerleading 

- Men's Rugby 

- Men's Football 


Player of the Year

- Ryan Wong 

- Afrasyab Khalil 

- Jennifer Bailey 

- Deane Dizon 


Most Improved Team of the Year

- Mens Football 

- Dance 

- Karate 


Captain of the Year

- Poppy Corbould

- Deane Dizon 

- Alexandra Lehtovaara 

- Brian Ijeh

Congratulations to all those nominated! It's been an amazing year in sport and we are so proud of all of our Dragons!


It's not just our sports teams that have been up to amazing things, this year our societies have been holding more events than ever. They've all been working so hard over the last year to provide students with the best experiences they can and we are so proud of all of you! On to the nominations! 


Society Member of the Year

Jayne Fletcher

Patrik Krivanek 

Jillian Keith

Ashley Turalba

Melia Tabani 


Society President of the Year

Shantel Neo 

Luca Ferrara

Olivia Ponsford

Mariama Hashi 

Dain Son


Society Event of the Year

Labour Society and Conservative Associates Society presents: Pint & Policy

Korean Culture Society - Versus Night

Film Society presents: Cinema For All Day 

Bangladesh Society & Pakistan Society presents: Lip Sync Battle 

Filipino Society presents: Christmas Party 


Best New Society 

Filipino Society 

Environmental Society 

EmpowHer Society 

Psychology Society 

Drop in the Box Society 

Marketing Society 


Most Improved Society of the Year

ELSA Society 

Musical Theatre Society 

Tourism Society 

First Aid Society 

Sikh Society 


Society of the Year

Korean Culture Society 

Musical Theatre 

Drop in the Box Society 

LGBTI+ Society 

Environmental Society 

Mental Health Society 



Outstanding contribution CPA

Shantel Neo 

Jillian Keith

Sali Koleli 


CPA Event of the Year 

Musical Theatre presents: The Winter Musical Extravaganza 

Musical Theatre Society presents: Grease 

Choral Society Christmas Service 


At our University we have a pheonominal group of students who make up our Student Media team. They comprise of Smoke Radio, Smoke Magazine, Smoke TV and the QH. We're not the only ones who think they amazing, this year our Radio team won big at the National Student Radio Awards. The nominees for their contribution to Smoke Media are; 

Student Journalist of the Year

Ashleigh Swan

Mina Mahdi 

Matthew Smith


Best Presenter 

Dan Taylor 

Sara Motie 

Gabriel Lucas-Green


Outstanding Contribution to Smoke Media

Dan Taylor

Gabriel Lucas-Green 

Sam Badcock

Pulama Kaufman


Best Student Media Feature

Smoke Radio - Bean Bag Sessions 

Smoke Radio - Women in Media


Over the year we are lucky enough to work with amazing students who contribute to the Students Union and are vital in shaping UWSU and the experience of other students who interact with us. The nominees for their Outstanding Contribution to UWSU are;

Student Employee of the Year 

Undercroft Bar Staff

Olivia Ponsford 

Toumas Jokiniemi 

Maira Mogal 

Amy Kilner 


Outstanding Contribution to The Great Start Project 

Santiago Murillo Guerero 

Tola Ogunpitan & Emma 

Jon Woodburn 

Bobbie Notcutt


UWSU Personality of the Year 

Olivia Ponsford

Will Pallett 

Kaniya Abubakar


We can't wait to see you all there and spend the night celebrating all the amazing things you've been up to this year! Make sure to get your ticket to Awards Ball 2019 on our events page now, or email Beth at to make a group booking. See you all on 3rd April!